www.endometriose.chWhat is endometriosis? A progressive disease
IT | FR | DE | ES 

Endometriosis, a progressive disease

Endometriosis is certainly not a malignant condition but it is nevertheless a disease that progressively gets worse. When particles of mucous membrane adhere to the peritoneum, they are subject to the same cyclic changes as the “normal” cells of the uterus. The difference is that, unlike menstrual blood, this blood is unable to flow to the outside of the body; it therefore accumulates in the abdominal cavity. This results in all kinds of problems, such as pain, impaired function of certain organs, even tissue lesions. The disease can also cause infertility. Less commonly, particles of uterine mucous membrane are transported some distance by the lymphatic vessels (for example in the navel) or by the blood vessels (for example in the lungs).

Endometriosis tends to get worse over time. New islands of mucous membrane are constantly being formed. This is why the symptoms generally intensify as well. Every time there is bleeding from endometriosis sites, inflammation occurs in the surrounding area. Furthermore, particles of mucous membrane remain attached to other organs (bladder, bowel, etc.) or even penetrate these organs. This can impair the function of the affected organs and produce typical symptoms, such as renal pain and pain when urinating or defaecating. Colicky pains and diffuse pelvic pains may also occur.

The aim of any treatment is to arrest this process, destroy the endometriosis sites and prevent the disease from spreading and worsening.

A disease which spreads in the body

 

Under the influence of the female hormones, islands of endometrium which have migrated into the abdominal cavity penetrate other organs where they form endometriosis sites. Monthly bleeding from endometriosis sites encourages the spread of the disease in the body.

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chWas ist Endometriose Fortschreitendes Krankheitsbild
IT | FR | EN | ES 

Endometriose ist ein wachsendes Leiden

Die Endometriose ist zwar kein bösartiges, aber ein fortschreitendes Leiden. Wenn die Schleimhautteilchen am Bauchfell anhaften, unterliegen sie den gleichen zyklischen Veränderungen wie die “normalen” Zellen in der Gebärmutter. Der Unterschied ist, dass das Blut nicht wie bei der Monatsblutung nach aussen wegfliessen kann, sondern sich im Bauchraum ansammelt. Dies führt zu den verschiedensten Beschwerden, wie Schmerzen, Organstörungen oder gar Gewebeschäden. Auch eine ungewollte Kinderlosigkeit kann die Folge sein. Seltener werden Schleimhautteilchen über die Lymphbahnen (z.B. in den Nabel) oder über die Blutbahnen (z.B. in die Lunge) verschleppt.

Die Endometriose schreitet meist im Laufe der Zeit fort. Es bilden sich immer neue Schleimhautinseln. Deshalb nehmen die Beschwerden meist ebenfalls zu. Bei jeder Blutung aus den Endometrioseherden kommt es zu Entzündungen in der Umgebung. Ausserdem bleiben Schleimhautpartikel an anderen Organen haften (Blase, Darm, usw.), oder sie wachsen sogar in die Organe hinein. Dies kann die Funktion der betroffenen Organe stören und typische Symptome wie Nierenschmerzen, Schmerzen beim Wasserlösen oder bei der Stuhlentleerung auslösen. Ebenso können Koliken sowie diffuse Unterbauchschmerzen auftreten.

Ziel jeder Behandlung ist es, diesen Prozess zu unterbrechen, die Endometriose zu zerstören und in ihrer Ausbreitung und Weiterentwicklung zu hindern.

Fortschreitendes Krankheitsbild

 

Unter dem Einfluss der weiblichen Hormone wachsen Gebärmutterschleimhautinseln, die in die Bauchhöhle verschleppt wurden, in andere Organe hinein und bilden dort Endometrioseherde. Die monatlichen Blutungen aus den Endometrioseherden fördern die weitere Ausbreitung der Krankheit.

(03/05) 02/08

Unterstützt durch AstraZeneca