www.endometriose.chWhat is endometriosis? A progressive disease
IT | FR | DE | ES 

Endometriosis, a progressive disease

Endometriosis is certainly not a malignant condition but it is nevertheless a disease that progressively gets worse. When particles of mucous membrane adhere to the peritoneum, they are subject to the same cyclic changes as the “normal” cells of the uterus. The difference is that, unlike menstrual blood, this blood is unable to flow to the outside of the body; it therefore accumulates in the abdominal cavity. This results in all kinds of problems, such as pain, impaired function of certain organs, even tissue lesions. The disease can also cause infertility. Less commonly, particles of uterine mucous membrane are transported some distance by the lymphatic vessels (for example in the navel) or by the blood vessels (for example in the lungs).

Endometriosis tends to get worse over time. New islands of mucous membrane are constantly being formed. This is why the symptoms generally intensify as well. Every time there is bleeding from endometriosis sites, inflammation occurs in the surrounding area. Furthermore, particles of mucous membrane remain attached to other organs (bladder, bowel, etc.) or even penetrate these organs. This can impair the function of the affected organs and produce typical symptoms, such as renal pain and pain when urinating or defaecating. Colicky pains and diffuse pelvic pains may also occur.

The aim of any treatment is to arrest this process, destroy the endometriosis sites and prevent the disease from spreading and worsening.

A disease which spreads in the body

 

Under the influence of the female hormones, islands of endometrium which have migrated into the abdominal cavity penetrate other organs where they form endometriosis sites. Monthly bleeding from endometriosis sites encourages the spread of the disease in the body.

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chQu’est-ce que l’endométriose Une maladie évolutive
IT | AL | EN | ES 

L'endométriose, une maladie évolutive

L’endométriose n’est certes pas une affection maligne, mais c’est néanmoins une maladie qui évolue en s’aggravant. Quand les particules de muqueuse adhèrent au péritoine, elles sont soumises aux mêmes modifications cycliques que les cellules «normales» de l’utérus. La différence est que, contrairement au sang menstruel, ce sang ne peut pas s’écouler vers l’extérieur; il s’accumule donc dans la cavité abdominale. Il en résulte toutes sortes de troubles, tels que douleurs, troubles des fonctions des organes, voire lésions tissulaires. La maladie peut aussi provoquer une infertilité. Plus rarement, des particules de muqueuse utérine sont transportées à distance par les voies lymphatiques (par exemple dans le nombril) ou par les vaisseaux sanguins (par exemple dans les poumons).

Le plus souvent, l’endométriose s’aggrave au fil du temps. Il se forme sans cesse de nouveaux îlots de muqueuse. C’est pourquoi les troubles s’accentuent généralement aussi. Lors de chaque hémorragie à partir des foyers d’endométriose, il se produit des inflammations au voisinage. En outre, des particules de muqueuse restent collées à d’autres organes (vessie, intestin, etc.) ou pénètrent même ces organes. Cela peut perturber la fonction des organes atteints et générer des symptômes typiques tels que douleurs rénales et douleurs lors de la miction ou de la défécation. Il peut aussi survenir des coliques et des douleurs pelviennes diffuses.

Tout traitement a pour but d’interrompre ce processus, de détruire les foyers d’endométriose et d’empêcher l’extension et l’aggravation de la maladie.

Une maladie qui se dissémine

 Sous l’influence des hormones féminines, des îlots de muqueuse utérine qui ont migré dans la cavité abdominale pénètrent dans d’autres organes et y constituent des foyers d’endométriose. Les hémorragies menstruelles à partir des foyers d’endométriose favorisent la dissémination de la maladie.

Avec le soutien d'AstraZeneca