www.endometriose.chWhat is endometriosis? Manifestation of endometriosis
IT | FR | DE | ES 

Manifestation of endometriosis

Normal uterus

The uterus is a pear-shaped organ roughly the size of a fist. The mucous membrane lining the uterus, known as the “endometrium”, plays a major role in the development of endometriosis.

 

Retrograde menstruation

The mucous membrane of the uterus is formed in a cyclic fashion and is shed every month during menstrual periods. In most women, a little blood containing cells of the uterine mucous membrane passes via the fallopian tubes into the abdominal cavity during periods. This phenomenon is known as retrograde or backward menstruation.

 

Mild endometriosis

Depending on the appereance, a distinction is made between different stages of endometriosis. In mild endometriosis, there are a few endometriosis sites adhering to the outer wall of the uterus, to the tubes and the ovaries.

 

Advanced endometriosis

Cysts in which menstrual blood accumulates can form in the ovaries. If these cysts are opened up during an operation, this blood looks like a brownish, viscous mass. This is why these are also called “chocolate cysts”

 

Cyclic haemorrhages from endometriosis sites result in constant peritoneal irritation and subsequent formation of scar tissue (adhesions marked in green) and penetration of other adjacent tissues, such as the ligaments of the support apparatus, and other organs such as the bowel, bladder and ureter.

 

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chQu’est-ce que l’endométriose Manifestations cliniques de l'endométriose
IT | AL | EN | ES 

Manifestations cliniques
de l'endométriose

Utérus normal

L’utérus est un organe en forme de poire, à peu près gros comme le poing. La muqueuse utérine, appelée «endomètre», joue un rôle important dans la survenue de l’endométriose.

 

Menstruation rétrograde

La muqueuse utérine est formée de façon cyclique dans la cavité utérine et elle est éliminée tous les mois avec les règles. Chez la plupart des femmes, un peu de sang contenant de telles cellules muqueuses passe dans la cavité abdominale pendant les règles, via les trompes. Ce phénomène est appelé «menstruation rétrograde» (à contre-courant).

 

Endométriose légère

Selon les manifestations, on distingue différents stades de l'endométriose. En cas d'une endométriose légère, on voit quelques foyers d'endométriose qui adhèrent à la paroi externe de l'utérus, aux trompes et aux ovaires.

 

Endomètriose sévère

Dans les ovaires, il peut se former des kystes dans lesquels du sang menstruel s’accumule. Si on ouvre ces kystes pendant une opération, ce sang se présente comme une masse brunâtre et visqueuse. C’est pourquoi ces kystes sont aussi appelés «kystes chocolat».

 

Par suite des hémorragies cycliques des foyers d’endométriose, il se produit sans cesse des irritations du péritoine, avec ensuite formation de tissu cicatriciel (adhérences figurées en vert) et pénétration dans d’autres tissus voisins tels que ligaments de l’appareil de soutien et dans d’autres organes tels que intestin, vessie et uretère.

 

Avec le soutien d'AstraZeneca