www.endometriose.chWhat is endometriosis?
IT | FR | DE | ES 

What is endometriosis? Cause(s)?

Endometriosis is a disease – often progressive – in which islands of the mucous membrane lining the uterus implant themselves outside the uterus. Endometriosis sites are most often located in the lower abdomen (for example on the peritoneum, in the ovaries, bowel or bladder); less commonly these sites can also be found in other organs (skin, lungs). Endometriosis sites are subject to the influence of the hormones that control the menstrual cycle. In the same way as the normal uterine mucosa – also known as the “endometrium” – endometriosis sites follow a cyclic pattern as they develop and bleed.

It is still not known why endometriosis develops. The risk is increased when a woman’s periods are prolonged or her cycles are shortened. However, there are also genetic factors and toxic environmental factors, such as dioxin, which predispose certain women to endometriosis.

The term “retrograde menstruation” means that, during periods, part of the menstrual blood flows into the abdominal cavity via the fallopian tubes. This phenomenon plays an important role in the development of endometriosis. This blood actually contains endometrial cells that are viable. If the mucous membrane presents increased resistance or if the women suffers from a certain weakness of the immune system, the mucosal cells may survive in the abdominal cavity and adhere to the peritoneum or even become implanted there.

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chQu’est-ce que l’endométriose
IT | AL | EN | ES 

Qu'est-ce que l'endométriose?
Cause(s)?

L’endométriose est une maladie souvent évolutive, laquelle des îlots de muqueuse utérine s’implantent en dehors de l’utérus. Les foyers d’endométriose siègent le plus souvent dans le bas-ventre (par exemple sur le péritoine, dans les ovaires, l’intestin ou la vessie); plus rarement, on peut aussi en rencontrer dans d’autres organes (peau, poumons). Les foyers d’endométriose sont soumis à l’influence des hormones du cycle menstruel. De même que la muqueuse utérine normale – également appelée «endomètre», les foyers d’endométriose se développent de façon cyclique et saignent.

On ignore toujours pourquoi une endométriose apparaît. Le risque est augmenté quand les règles durent longtemps ou les cycles sont raccourcis. Cependant, il existe aussi des facteurs génétiques et des toxiques de l’environnement, comme par exemple la dioxine, qui prédisposent à l’endométriose.

On entend par «menstruation rétrograde» le fait que, pendant les règles, une partie du sang menstruel s’écoule dans la cavité abdominale via les trompes. Ce phénomène joue un rôle important dans la survenue d’une endométriose. Ce sang contient en effet des cellules de muqueuse utérine qui sont viables. Si la muqueuse présente une résistance accrue ou si la femme souffre d’une certaine faiblesse du système immunitaire, les cellules de la muqueuse peuvent survivre dans la cavité abdominale et adhérer au péritoine, voire s’implanter.

Avec le soutien d'AstraZeneca