www.endometriose.chTreatment Infertility
IT | FR | DE | ES 

Treatment of infertility

The treatment of involuntary infertility must be carried out by specialists. Specific, non-traumatic surgical techniques must be adopted in order to remove endometriosis sites while preserving and restoring the organs affected.

Precision operations performed in order to repair the fallopian tubes and ovaries will treat the endometriosis and can often restore spontaneous pregnancy as well. At present, this kind of operation is usually performed by the micro-laparoscopic technique.

Medicinal treatments are a valuable addition. They are mainly used to relieve the pains rapidly and get rid of any inflammatory reaction before and after a planned operation. Taking an ovulation inhibitor (contraceptive pill) up to the time of becoming pregnant can prevent or at least delay the reappearance of endometriosis sites after an operation.


The prospects of success are generally good if the appropriate treatment has been chosen (surgery, in vitro fertilisation or both).

Based on the experience gained in specialist centres, pregnancy occurred within a year in nearly 80% of women who had not managed to become pregnant because of endometriosis. However, several cycles are sometimes required in the case of assisted reproductive technology.

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chTraitement Infertilité
IT | AL | EN | ES 

Traitement de l'infertilité
liée à l'endométriose

Le traitement de l’infertilité involontaire doit être assuré par des spécialistes. Pour retirer les foyers d’endométriose tout en préservant et rétablissant les organes atteints, il faut adopter des techniques chirurgicales particulières, non traumatisantes.

Les opérations effectuées avec précision pour réparer les trompes et les ovaires traitent l’endométriose et permettent souvent en outre la survenue spontanée de grossesses. A l’heure actuelle, une telle opération est le plus souvent effectuée par la technique micro-laparoscopique.

Les traitements médicamenteux sont un complément précieux. Ils servent surtout à soulager rapidement les douleurs et à faire disparaître une réaction inflammatoire avant et après une opération prévue. La prise d’un inhibiteur de l’ovulation (pilule contraceptive) jusqu’au moment d’une grossesse désirée peut prévenir ou du moins retarder la réapparition de foyers d’endométriose après une opération.


Les perspectives de succès sont généralement bonnes si le traitement approprié a été choisi (chirurgie, fécondation in vitro et /ou les deux).

L’expérience acquise dans les centres spécialisés montre que, chez près de 80% des femmes qui ne parvenaient pas à attendre un enfant à cause d’une endométriose, une grossesse est survenue en l’espace d’un an. Cependant, en cas d’insémination artificielle, il faut parfois plusieurs cycles.

Avec le soutien d'AstraZeneca