www.endometriose.chTreatment Hormone therapy
IT | FR | DE | ES 

Hormone therapy

In view of the fact that endometriosis sites are stimulated by the female sex hormones (oestrogens and progestogens), medicinal treatments are aimed at regulating and inhibiting the hormonal effect. This result can be obtained, for example, by taking luteal hormones (progestogens) or a contraceptive pill.

If complete blocking of ovarian function is necessary, the synthesis of oestrogens is inhibited by treating with LHRH analogues. This treatment dries up the endometriosis sites. This can provide pain relief and prevent the formation of new endometriosis sites.

The use of medication to inhibit the formation of hormones temporarily creates a state comparable to the menopause, with the problems associated with the menopause. However, the intensity of the hot flushes, decreased bone mass, mood swings, etc., is highly variable. If prolonged treatment is necessary, the associated symptoms can be relieved by prescribing a special hormonal treatment with a low dose.

Supported by AstraZeneca

www.endometriose.chTraitement L’hormonothérapie
IT | AL | EN | ES 

L'hormonothérapie

Etant donné que les foyers d’endométriose sont stimulés par les hormones sexuelles féminines (estrogènes et progestatifs), les traitements médicamenteux visent à réguler ou inhiber l’effet hormonal. Ce résultat peut être obtenu par exemple par la prise d’hormones du corps jaune (progestatifs)ou d’une pilule contraceptive.

Si un blocage complet de la fonction ovarienne est nécessaire, on inhibe la synthèse d’estrogènes en traitant par des «analogues de la LH-RH». Ce traitement assèche les foyers d’endométriose. On peut ainsi soulager les douleurs et éviter la formation de nouveaux foyers d’endométriose.

L’usage de médicaments pour inhiber la formation des hormones engendre temporairement un état comparable à la ménopause, avec les troubles associés à cet état. Cependant, l’intensité des bouffées de chaleur, de la diminution de la masse osseuse, des fluctuations de l’humeur, etc. est très variable. Si un traitement prolongé est nécessaire, on peut soulager les symptômes associés en prescrivant un traitement hormonal spécial, à faible dose d’estrogènes.

Avec le soutien d'AstraZeneca